Night Along the Beach

I’ll never forget walking along the beach at night and looking out to sea. The waters were darker than a starless sky. I didn’t think such a thing was possible. But I could see the white caps plain as day. As if they were ethereal ghosts dancing along the waves. Ethereal ghosts riding the waves to where I stood. It was gracefully scary, horrifingly beautiful. Chills racked my body when the opaque water surrounded my legs. How much of the unknown would come lap my feet? Yet, I couldn’t move. I was immobilized by the sensation. Greeted with a perfect mixture of cold and warmth. As the salted wind blew my hair about my face, I couldn’t tear my eyes away. Couldn’t cease staring at where two infinites met on the far horizon. Where two ancient powers shared space. Sky and water. The roar of the ocean defeaned the stars. Defeaned the voices in my head. I buried my toes in the sand as the withdrawing waves sucked it away. Felt the grains and broken seashells slide over my feet. I wasn’t worried about being cut, though there would be salt in the wound. I was watching, listening. For what, I’ll never know, but I was drawn, pulled by two invisible forces. I wanted to fly and swim at the same time. But I remained motionless. Motionless until I had to break myself away and walk back up the beach. I had to return the real world, unfortunately unable to stay in the fantasy forever. But that feeling–that sensation–will haunt my mind for the rest of my life. It was something I knew I’d never forget.

Leave a Reply

