The Magic of Music

The music store door opened with a pleasant ding of the entry bell. Marina entered with a smile, her sun-kissed skin glowing in the noon sun. A quick glance affirmed she was the only customer at the moment. She sauntered to the sole employee polishing electric guitars. Delighted to see a man. Clearing her throat, she adopted her sweetest voice. “Excuse me. Could you help me?”

The employee rose. Completely enthralled by the woman in front of him. “Certainly. What…what can I, uh, find you?”

She smiled. Pulled herself onto the counter and coyly crossed her legs. Mini-skirt providing very little coverage. “I need the highest quality microphone you have.”

He was at her feet. “We have several types. Are you wanting–”

“Shh.” She placed a finger over his lips. “Spare me the details. Bring me the best one for picking up multiple voices and tranferring them to a video.” Mouth open, he nodded and did as he was told. Her turquoise eyes watched him. “What’s your name, lad?”

“S-Slash. That’s what they call me, at least. Y-you?”

“Marina.”

“How aquatic.”

She scrunched the back of her sun-bleacahed hair as he returned with her request. “It is. Tell me, Slash, would you like to know why I need this?”

“Yes.”

Her lashes batted. “My sisters and I are making a music video. You can find us on YouTube under Marina and the Sirens. We’re uploading at midnight tonight. Would you like to hear a sample?”

He nodded more enthusiastically.

Sliding off the sales counter, she carressed the side of his face. Eyes swirling like the Bermuda Triangle. Then she began her song.

“When the full moon rises
And the tide is high
We’ll be rid of guises
Victory is nigh
As the raging seas churns
Secrets come alive
Soon you’ll see water burns
Only strong survive
Come with me, to your watery grave
Come with me, I’ll hold you hand, all the way
Listen to my voice, soon you’ll have no choice
But to dive into deep waters
Come with me, without falter
Come with me…”

She drew out the last note for more effect. Slash had been entranced, hanging on every syllable. Her eyes continued glistening. “You will give me the microphone. Say your counts were off. You will scrub any security footage of me. You will remember nothing. Except that a little birdie told you of my group. And you will convince your friends to watch our video at midnight.”

“Yes, Marina.”

“Excellent.” She grabbed his face with both hands, kissing him passionately. “Now go.” One last nod to her commands. Her eyes returned to their normal color. She took the box. Smiled again at the door’s ding. With graceful ease, she slid into the car she sung off a man three weeks ago. The surface world was so easy to manipulate. She pulled out her phone. Dialed one of her sisters. “Put me on speaker.”

Marina watched the still spell-induced man inside. “Listen up, sisters. We have eleven hours to be ready. I have the microphone. I’ll pick up the last bit of items we need. Practice the song. At midnight, we’ll upload the video so everyone in the world can hear it. When they do, they’ll be under our control. We’ll lure them all into the oceans. We’ll take back what is rightfully ours. The oceans will be filled with bones once again. Spread word to all our sisters. Victory is nigh. We’ll show them the true magic of music.”

Leave a Reply

