The Child

“Where are we going now?”

“I do not know.”

“Don’t you know everything?”

The being smiles. “I do not know where you want to go. Where would you like to go?”

“I want to go home.”

“I can take you there.”

The small child looks back into the endless void. “Will I see them again?”

“I can assure you, you will.”

“I want them to be happy.”

The being kneels down. “I have been your guardian angel since the day you were born. I know they will be happy. Every time they look up at the stars, say your name, or think about you, they will be happy.”  The being holds out arms. “It is time for us to go home.”

The child looks behind one last time and nods. “I want to go home.”

“There will be others who will love you. All of you will be able to look down on your happy families. You will become their guardian angel.”

“Like you?”

“Yes. Like me.”

“Okay.” The child enters the being’s arms. Together, they dissolve among the stars. The void is empty for now.

A family huddled on the front porch of their home during the night. The burden of loss heavy on their shoulders. They lifted their heads to see two shooting stars streaming across the sky. The father held the mother close as she burst into tears once more. Their now youngest pointed at the phenomenon. “There!” The mother nodded through her tears. “That’s…that’s our child watching over us, wanting us to be happy. I think it’s only fair we honor that last wish. We,” she took a deep breath for composure. “We must keep our hearts filled with love. That’s the best way to remember.”

Leave a Reply

